[ABATE Local 6 Elist] DMV Reminds Motorists of New 2018 Laws

Nancy Nemecek nemecek at san.rr.com
Thu Dec 21 20:41:50 PST 2017


FYI .  Some of this is not particularly good news, especially the last item.
Also watch out smoking weed and driving . you and any passengers.  As is
noted, the starting date for each varies.


Merry Christmas!




DMV Reminds Motorists of New 2018 Laws

Sacramento - With the new year just around the corner, the California
Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) wants to inform the public of several new
laws or changes to existing law that, unless otherwise noted, take effect
January 1, 2018.

80SB65> Cannabis Use in Vehicles (SB 65, Hill): This law prohibits smoking
or ingesting marijuana or marijuana products while driving or riding as a
passenger in a vehicle. The DMV will assign negligent operator point counts
for this violation. In addition to the California Driver Handbook, the DMV
also will revise the Motorcycle Handbook and the DMV's website to include
information relating to marijuana violations.

80SB20> Buses and Seatbelts (SB 20, Hill): Beginning July 1, 2018, this law
requires a passenger on a bus equipped with seat belts to be properly
restrained by a safety belt. This law also prohibits a parent, legal
guardian, or chartering party to transport on a bus, or permit to be
transported on a bus, a child who is at least 8 years of age but under 16
years of age, unless they are properly restrained by a safety belt or an
appropriate child passenger restraint system that meets federal safety
standards. A violation of these provisions is an infraction punishable by a

60AB2687> DUI - Passenger for Hire (AB 2687, Achadjian): Beginning July 1,
2018, this law makes it unlawful for a person to operate a motor vehicle
with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.04 percent or more when a passenger
for hire is in the vehicle at the time of the offense. This will mean that
drivers of passenger for hire, in their personal vehicles, will be held to a
higher standard of safety while transporting people. The DMV will suspend a
person's driver license if a conviction is added to their record. Commercial
driver license holders will receive a disqualification.

80AB503> Parking Violations for Registration or Driver License Renewal (AB
503, Lackey): This law makes changes to a requirement under which vehicle
registration renewal and driver license issuance or renewal is not granted
for having unpaid parking penalties and fees. The law creates a process for
low-income Californians with outstanding parking violations to repay their
fines and penalties prior to the parking violation being reported to the
DMV. The law also allows the registered owner of a vehicle to file for
Planned Non-Operation status when unpaid parking penalties are on the
vehicle's record. It also allows for someone with outstanding parking
penalties and fees, to obtain or renew a driver license.

80AB544> HOV Decal Program (AB 544 Bloom): Beginning January 1, 2019, this
law creates a new decal program to allow certain low emission vehicles to
access high-occupancy vehicle lanes, regardless of vehicle occupancy level,
for a four-year term. Access to high-occupancy vehicle lanes for vehicles
with green and white decals will expire January 1, 2019. Vehicles issued a
green or white decal in 2017 or 2018 will be eligible to reapply for a decal
in 2019 granting them access to high-occupancy toll lanes until January 1,

80SB611> Disabled Person Parking Placards and Plates (SB 611, Hill): This
law makes changes to the administration of the Disabled Person Parking
Placard and Disabled Person License Plate Program, including requiring
applicants to provide proof of true full name and birthdate. The law also
will limit the number of replacement disabled person parking placards an
applicant can request without obtaining a medical certification to four in
two years. It also requires the DMV to establish a renewal process that
requires applicants to return a renewal notice by mail every six years.
Currently, all permanent disabled placards expire in June 2019 and they are
automatically renewed every two years. The placards expiring in June 2023
will be the first batch of placards subject to renewal. Applicants will not
be required to obtain a medical certification as part of the renewal
process. For more information about the new law effecting Disabled Person
Placard and Plates, visit the DMV website
<https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv/detail/pubs/plates/newdppplaw> .

80AB1027> Motorcycle Training Courses (AB 1027, Acosta): This law authorizes
the DMV to accept a certificate of satisfactory completion of any
motorcyclist-training program approved by the California Highway Patrol in
lieu of the required motorcycle skills test. Applicants for an original
motorcycle license or motorcycle endorsement under 21 years of age continue
to be required to complete a novice motorcyclist-training program.

80AB1338> Firefighter License Plate Program for Surviving Family Member (AB
1338, Low): This law allows a surviving spouse, domestic partner, or child
of a deceased firefighter or deceased retired firefighter to independently
apply for and receive a California Firefighter Special License Plate for
their vehicle.

80SB19> Private Carriers of Passengers (SB 19, Hill): Beginning July 1,
2018, this law transfers regulatory authority over private carriers of
passengers (such as church and youth buses) from the California Public
Utilities Commission to the DMV.

80SB1> Road Maintenance and Rehabilitation Program (SB 1, Beall): Beginning
January 1, 2018, the DMV is required to begin collecting at the time of
registration or renewal the Transportation Improvement Fee (TIF) ranging
from $25 - $175, based on the vehicle's current value. The law also requires
the department, beginning July 1, 2020, to collect a Road Improvement Fee
for zero-emission vehicles with a model year of 2020 or later.

The TIF is based on the vehicle's current market value. Customers with a
vehicle renewal notice due on January 1, 2018 and later will include the

Vehicles with Market Value Range                        Transportation
Improvement Fee

Between $0 and $4,999                                              $25

Between $5,000 and $24,999                                     $50

Between $25,000 and $34,999                                   $100

Between $35,000 and $59,999                                   $150

$60,000 and higher                                                     $175




-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://abatelocal6.org/pipermail/elist_abatelocal6.org/attachments/20171221/f4db63fe/attachment.html>
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: image002.png
Type: image/png
Size: 20202 bytes
Desc: not available
URL: <http://abatelocal6.org/pipermail/elist_abatelocal6.org/attachments/20171221/f4db63fe/attachment.png>
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: attachment_100149_12.21.17 DMV Reminds Motorists of New 2018 Laws1.pdf
Type: unknown/unknown
Size: 385913 bytes
Desc: not available
URL: <http://abatelocal6.org/pipermail/elist_abatelocal6.org/attachments/20171221/f4db63fe/attachment.bin>

More information about the Elist mailing list