Attention!!!! ABATE of California Members - It IS ELECTION TIME!!!!

It is time to start preparations for the 2016 Board Elections – it's an Even numbered year – So 6 ABATE Members will need to be Elected to serve on the Board of Directors for the 2016-2017 term. Whether they be re-elected or Newly Elected, is Up to YOU the ABATE Members, to nominate a Candidate & Vote in the Election!

ABATE has tiered elections – 5 run in the odd numbered years and 6 for the even numbered Years. The 6 current Board Members up for re-election are: Nick Benson Sr.; Mark "Dogman" Castillero; Tom Lubbers; Fred "Sarge" Matthews; Lee "Sporty" Milligan and Ed Rogers.

And also Time for Nominations for the 2015 Freedom Fighter of the Year Award.

If you are a current ABATE of California Member this applies to you:

Membership Rights – The membership is the highest authority of ABATE and shall be empowered to take or direct any action consistent with the bylaws of the organization. The specific rights of a member in good standing (membership dues are current) are:

- a) To nominate and vote on ABATE Local representatives.
- b) To nominate and vote for the State Board of Directors of ABATE of California.

If you would like to be a candidate for the Board of Directors – you need to send in your Candidate Statement by the 15th of September to <u>Bailing.wire@abate.org</u> (450 words or Less) a current picture of yourself is nice too, many Members have face recognition and are not always able to match a name to a face. Send a picture in a jpg file to the same email <u>Bailing.wire@abate.org</u>

For the nominations of ABATE's Freedom Fighter for 2015 – it is a difficult task to just pick one out of ALL of our ABATE Members as each Local, more than likely has a person worthy of this distinction – so as in any election – write the best recommendation you can to convince other Members to vote for your nominated Candidate!

The BEST thing about ABATE's elections – it isn't going to be the Candidate that spends the most money to get Elected – it is UP to YOU the ABATE Member to choose the Candidate with the best qualifications that YOU want in charge of taking care of ABATE Business and representing YOU!

And the question that is usually asked is: Who has Won the Freedom Fighter Awards in the Past? The "official" State-wide Awards started with the year 1995, and there are 2 years that are missing (haven't been able to track down if the year was skipped or it just didn't make it to any official recognition).

Here's the answer: John "Milky" Loudermilk; Mike Osborn; John Paliwoda; Dave Hastings; Bill Bish; Jean Hughes; Leon Dailey; Nancy Nemecek; Rex Foreman; Lee "Sporty" Milligan iii (twice); Beverly Lieswald; "Lil' David" Morena; Cynthia Witthans; John Del Santo; Nick Benson Sr.; Ruby Weber and for 2014 was Glenn Phillips.